This Path I Tread

Upward Path

Today is a Sunday. More importantly, it’s the beginning of a new week, a new adventure and new blessings. As I lay here in my soft, floor-level, cushion of a bed in my yellow and green room, I realize that a journey is beginning that will (hopefully) never be regretted: blogging. Trust me when I say I am not the best writer so if (and when) you see anything undesirable, I ask for your patience and kindness and just ear with me here.

Blogging was first introduced to me as a serious avenue of expressing myself by a good friend of mine (whose blog you can view here) and ever since then I have that annoying, tickling nag in the back of my brain to get a blog of my own. I wrestled with the idea for weeks on end and came up with various excuses as to why I shouldn’t and slowly drifted away from the idea until, well, here we are.

So the question is, where do I start?

I guess I could start with the title of my blog (and the title of this particular post).

“This Path I Tread” came to me in the middle of the night as I was up late, contemplating my life and all the numerous choices I’ve made and the Providential miracle (is there any other kind?) that put me in the position I’m in today. I realized that from the very beginning of my path into God’s work nearly three years ago, I was a completely different person in contrast to who I am today. This path I tread has been far from easy and I don’t think it will ever get any easier. And that’s okay.

You see, I’ve been labeled lots of things, good and bad, over the years: brave, childish, strong, weak, understanding, skeptical, and the list goes on and on. But the one label and promise I have held on to for the entirety of this path, the one I finally claimed for myself on July 27th, 2013 was this: adopted.

“[God] predestined [me] to adoption as [a son] by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will to the praise of the glory of His grace, by which He made [me] accepted in the Beloved (Ephesians 1:5,6 NKJV)”

 It is very well to be understood that there is power in claiming the promises of God for oneself. By claiming His promises we become partakers in the blessings He has had for all of us from the beginning of our lives up unto the very step you are taking.

As I began my journey into the unknown, the path I was beginning has become one of rich reward and blessing. It hasn’t been easy in any way but let’s ask ourselves, when did Jesus ever say it would be? If walking the straight and narrow path was easy, everyone would be doing it.

But it is made clear time and time again in God’s word that once we begin this path, if we cling to Jesus and claim Him as our righteousness, by faith we shall be saved and the trials and tribulations we face will be seen as blessings as we become eternity minded and the spiritual projectiles thrown at us will simply bounce off “[T]he shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. (Ephesians 6:16 NKJV)”

I was once given sound advice from a dear friend and brother of mine which, in my rashness and rebelliousness, went unheeded for years until I finally understood what he, and more importantly what Jesus himself, was trying to tell me: “There is life in a look”

So, this path I tread, this path WE tread, whether it be difficult or easy, energizing or wearisome, trying or otherwise, the only this we ever need to focus in in Jesus. Always Jesus. He was, and still is, high and lifted up. Whatever our situation, whatever our struggle, whatever our burden, just look, simply look to the Author and Finisher of our faith, our Wonderful Counselor, the A and Ω, Jesus, and focus on Him.

“[W]hen he looked…, he lived. (Numbers 21:9 NKJV)”

One thought on “This Path I Tread

Leave a Reply

